Facebook introduces ‘Unfollow’ button in place of ‘Hide All’

Social

by CBR Staff Writer| 04 December 2013

It allows blocking content from particular users by 'unfriending' them.

Facebook has replaced the 'Hide All' button on the social networking platform with the more concise 'Unfollow', in a bid to let users filter their news feeds by blocking all messages and posts from particular friends.

The new button, working similar to the previous one, allows blocking content from particular users by unfriending them, as well cutting ties with particular users on the social network, without informing them.

Facebook said in a statement to Reuters that the goal of this change is to help people curate their news feed and see more of the content that they care about.

"This means you are still friends, but updates from that person won't appear in your News Feed," the social networking firm said.

The idea of unfollowing has turned out to be a bigger part of Facebook, similar to Twitter and Instagram and will appear next to the 'Like' button in profiles.

Earlier, Facebook also added a 'Following' button beside the standard 'Like' button on a page or next to the 'Friends' button on a personal timeline, which would let users block posts.

Comments
Post a comment

Comments may be moderated for spam, obscenities or defamation.
Privcy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.