Feature now available on Android and desktop.
Google has rolled out a new feature, dubbed Your Timeline, which lets users remember and see the places they have been on a given day, month or year.
The feature, which is based on the Google Maps service, allows users to visualise real-world routines, trips of places and glimpses of locations they had visited.
It also shows images captured by users if they utilise Google Photos. Your Timeline is private and visible only to the user.
Users can control the locations they select to keep, allowing them to delete a day or full history at any time.
Google product manager Gerard Sanz said in a blogpost, "You can edit any place that appears in Your Timeline, including removing a specific location or giving a frequented spot a private name like — Mom’s House or My Favorite Running Spot. This spot will then appear right in Google Maps when you’re logged in."
The Your Timeline feature, which is available now on Android and desktop, can be accessed only if users chose to have their location history stored by Google.
Last month, Google launched My Account tool, enabling users to access all of their privacy settings in one place.